

UNIVERSITY OF KERALA

(Re-accredited by NAAC with 'A++' Grade)

Minutes of the Special Meeting of the Senate held on 29th July, 2024

Time : 08.30 AM

Place of Meeting : Senate Chamber, University Buildings,

Thiruvananthapuram

Members Present:

1. Dr. R Bindu

Pro-Chancellor

2. Dr. Mohanan Kunnummal

Vice-Chancellor (In the Chair)

3. Sri. Sreeni G

Additional Secretary, Finance Department, Govt. of Kerala

4. Sri. Shanavas S IAS

Director of General Education

5. Sri. Sudhir K IAS

Director of Collegiate Education

6. Smt. Sreeja V

Additional Secretary, General Education Department, Govt. of Kerala

7. Sri. Anilkumar V S

Additional Secretary, Higher Education Department, Govt. of Kerala

8. Sri. Rajesh Kumar M

Additional Secretary, Electronics and Information Technology Department, Govt. of Kerala

9. Dr. Shalij P R

Director of Technical Education

10. Dr. Prasad J

Chairman, State Advisory Board of Education

11. Smt. Arya Rajendran S

Mayor, Thiruvananthapuram Corporation

- 12. Dr. Krishnakumar R S
- 13. Dr. A Bijukumar
- 14. Dr. Bindu T V
- 15. Dr. E. A Siril

- 16. Dr. R. Vasanthagopal
- 17. Dr. Sumesh Divakaran
- 18. Dr. Meena T Pillai
- 19. Prof. Razia K I
- 20. Dr. Sobha K D
- 21. Prof. Manoj V
- 22. Prof. (Dr.) Prakash K C
- 23. Dr. Ajimol P G
- 24. Dr. B Rajendran
- 25. Smt. O S Ambika MLA
- 26. Sri. M S Arun Kumar MLA
- 27. Sri. D K Murali MLA
- 28. Sri. V. Sasi MLA
- 29. Dr. Sujith Vijayan Pillai MLA
- 30. Sri. M. Vincent MLA
- 31. Dr. Manju S Nair
- 32. Dr. Nazeeb S
- 33. Dr. Sam Solomon
- 34. Sri. Vinod K Joseph
- 35. Dr. Rahim K
- 36. Dr. B Asok
- 37. Dr. Aji P.L
- 38. Sri. Santhoshkumar S
- 39. Sri. Vishnu Gopan
- 40. Dr. Bijukumar K
- 41. Dr. Suboj Babykutty
- 42. Dr. Soju S
- 43. Sri. Hashim M
- 44. Dr. Ajesh S.R
- 45. Sri. Firos Khan
- 46. Dr. Biju A
- 47. Dr. Pramod N
- 48. Dr. Nithya U S
- 49. Sri. Adheesh U
- 50. Dr. Sivaprasad A
- 51. Dr. Abraham A
- 52. Dr. T R Manoj
- 53. Smt. Priya Priyadarsanan
- 54. Dr. Jyolsna S
- 55. Dr. M Lenin Lal
- 56. Smt. Priji Sasidharan
- 57. Sri. Praveen G Panicker
- 58. Adv. R.B Rajeev Kumar
- 59. Smt. S Pushpalatha
- 60. Adv. Gopukrishnan C
- 61. Sri. Ajay D.N
- 62. Sri. Binukumar K

- 63. Sri. Ahamed Fazil Y
- 64. Sri. Osbon Y
- 65. Sri. Aazif N
- 66. Sri. Amarnath S V
- 67. Kum. Avya Krishnan S
- 68. Kum. Devika R G
- 69. Kum. Dhanuja C.D
- 70. Sri. Fahad Mohammed Firoz
- 71. Sri. Maneesh S
- 72. Kum. Mariyam Jasmine
- 73. Sri. Vaishnav U
- 74. Sri. Vishnu S
- 75. Sri. Sujith S
- 76. Smt. Kavitha O B
- 77. Sri. P S Gopakumar
- 78. Dr. S Mini Venugopal
- 79. Dr. Vinodkumar T G Nair
- 80. Sri. G Sajikumar
- 81. Sri. S N Raghuchandran Nair
- 82. Sri. M S Faisal Khan
- 83. Dr. Sree Prasad R
- 84. Sri. Sree Kumar P
- 85. Adv. Manju V K
- 86. Dr. Divya S R
- 87. Dr. Paulraj R
- 88. Ms. Deviaparna J S
- 89. Ms. Krishnapriya R
- 90. Sri. Ramanand R
- 91. Ms. G R Nandana
- 92. Adv. Muralidharan Pillai G
- 93. Dr. Shijukhan J S
- 94. Prof.(Dr.) P.M Radhamany
- 95. Dr. S Jayan
- 96. Sri. R Rajesh
- 97. Dr. K. G Gopchandran

The Meeting of the Senate was called to order at 08.30 am. The Vice-Chancellor welcomed the Members to the Meeting, and informed the House that the sole Item in the Agenda is the Conduct of Election of Nine Members of the Senate to the Syndicate and read the Agenda.

Election of Nine(9) members to the Syndicate by the members of the Senate from among themselves (under Section 21- Other Members (a) of the Kerala University Act, 1974) of whom

- (i) Five shall be persons who are not teachers.
- (ii) One shall be the Principal of a Private College other than Un-aided College.

(iii) Three shall be teachers who are not Principals of whom one shall be a teacher of a Government College.

One of the Senate members raised question regarding the reason for electing nine members only, since the notice for the Senate Meeting stated election of 12 members of the Senate to the Syndicate. The Vice- Chancellor quoting statutory provision explained that out of 12 vacant seats notified, three candidates have been duly elected unopposed, as per the statutory provisions. Hence the election is only for the remaining 9 vacant seats.

The Vice-Chancellor further brought to notice of the House the Judgments of the Hon'ble High Court regarding the provisional casting of votes by fourteen student members of the Senate and one member coming under the category of Higher School Headmasters. As per the Judgment the vote cast by the above members shall be kept separately without counting provisionally and subject to further orders for the time being.

Accordingly, the election is being conducted as per the directions contained in the Judgment of the Hon'ble High Court on the matter.

The Chair thereafter announced the polling of Votes for Election of Nine Members of the Senate to the Syndicate and the Polling of Votes commenced from 08.30 am and ended at 10 am

The meeting came to an end at 10.05 am.

Sd/-REGISTRAR Sd/-VICE-CHANCELLOR

University Buildings, Thiruvananthapuram. 29.07.2024