UNIVERSITY OF KERALA

Reconstitution of the Senate - Election of Members by the Principals of Colleges/Members of the Legislative Assembly/Teachers of the University/Teachers of the Government Colleges/Teachers of the Private Colleges/Members of the Local Authorities/Trade Unions/Non-Teaching Staff of the University/Non-Teaching Staff of the Affiliated Colleges/Managers of Private Colleges

NOTIFICATION

No.Election/Senate/1/2013-14

Whereas the Senate of the University of Kerala has to be reconstituted, it is hereby notified under Statute 34 of the Kerala University (Conduct of Elections to various Authorities or Bodies) First Statutes 1974, that elections will be held by postal ballot to elect to the Senate, persons coming under item (i), (ii), (vi), (ix) and (x) and without postal ballot in respect of items (iii), (iv), (v), (viii) and (viii) in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of single transferable vote and in accordance with the procedure prescribed by the Statutes to elect to the Senate:

- (i). Seven Principals from among themselves, of whom two shall be from among Principals of Government Colleges, one, from among Principals of Professional Colleges and one, from among Principals of Junior Colleges (Section 17 – Elected members – (1) of the KU Act, 1974).
- (ii). Six members by the members of the Legislative Assembly of Kerala from among the members representing the electorate of the University area of whom one shall be a member of a Scheduled Caste (Section 17 – Elected members – (3) of the KU Act, 1974).
- (iii). Three members by the teachers of the University from among themselves (Section 17 Elected members (4) of the KU Act, 1974).
- (iv). Five members by the teachers of Government Colleges from among themselves (Section 17 Elected members (5) of the KU Act, 1974).
- (v). Sixteen members by the teachers of Private Colleges from among themselves (Section 17 Elected members (6) of the KU Act, 1974).
- (vi). Two members by the Registered Trade Unions in the University area from among members designated by the Statutes (Section 17 Elected members (8) of the KU Act,
- (vii). One member by and from among the non-teaching staff of the University (Section 17 Elected members (9) of the KU Act, 1974).
- (viii). Three members by the Non-Teaching Staff of Affiliated Colleges from among themselves of whom one shall be a member of the Non-Teaching Staff of a Government College (Section 17 – Elected members – (10) of the KU Act, 1974).
- (ix) Four members by the Managers of the Private Colleges in the University area from among themselves (Section 17 Elected members (11) of the KU Act, 1974).
- (x) One member by the members of the Local Authorities of each District in the University Area from among themselves (Section 17 Elected members (7) of KU Act, 1974).

Only persons, whose names are on the electoral rolls of the respective constituencies as published by the University on 19-12-2013 are eligible to take part in the elections, and, to vote thereat, subject to the provisions contained in the Statutes.

Every elector is at liberty to nominate one duly qualified person to fill up each seat. Every such nomination shall contain the consent of the nominee in writing agreeing to serve the Senate, if elected.

Nominations shall be made in the prescribed form, copies of which can be had from the office of the Registrar to the electors whose names are on the electoral rolls. The envelopes containing the nomination papers should be super scribed "Nomination for Election to the Senate by" (mention the electorate).

The following is the programme for the conduct of the elections

The following is the programme for the conduct of the elections.										
	Principals of Colleges	MLAs	Teachers of the University	Teachers of the Govt. Colleges	Non-Teaching Staff of the University	Registered Trade Unions	Teachers of the Private Colleges	Non- Teaching Staff of the Affiliated Colleges	Managers of Private Colleges	Local Authorities
Last date & hour for receipt of nominations	04-02-2014 Tuesday 11.00 a.m.	04-02-2014 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	04-02-2014 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	04-02-2014 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	04-02-2014 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	04-02-2014 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	04-02-2014 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	04-02-2014 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	04-02-2014 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	04-02-2014 Tuesday 11.00 a.m
Date & hour for scrutiny of nominations	04-02-2014 Tuesday 11.05 a.m	04-02-2014 Tuesday 12.05 p.m	04-02-2014 Tuesday 02.00 p.m	04-02-2014 Tuesday 03.00 p.m	04-02-2014 Tuesday 4.00 p.m	05-02-2014 Wednesday 12.30 p.m	05-02-2014 Wednesday 11.00 a.m	05-02-2014 Wednesday 12.00 Noon	05-02-2014 Wednesday 2 .00p.m	05-02-2014 Wednesday 04.00 pm
Date of publication of provisional list of candidates	04-02-2014	04-02-2014	04-02-2014	04-02-2014	04-02-2014	05-02-2014	05-02-2014	05-02-2014	05-02-2014	05-02-2014
Last date & hour for withdrawal of candidature	12-02-2014 Wednesday 11.00 a.m.	12-02-2014 Wednesday 11.00 a.m.	12-02-2014 Wednesday 11.00 a.m.	12-02-2014 Wednesday 11.00 a.m.	12-02-2014 Wednesday 11.00 a.m.	12-02-2014 Wednesday 11.00 a.m.	12-02-2014 Wednesday 11.00 a.m.	12-02-2014 Wednesday 11.00 a.m.	12-02-2014 Wednesday 11.00 a.m.	12-02-2014 Wednesday 11.00 a.m
Date of publication of final list of candidates	12-02-2014 Wednesday	12-02-2014 Wednesday	12-02-2014 Wednesday	12-02-2014 Wednesday	12-02-2014 Wednesday	12-02-2014 Wednesday	12-02-2014 Wednesday	12-02-2014 Wednesday	12-02-2014 Wednesday	12-02-2014 Wednesday
Date of issue of ballot papers (if any)	20-02-2014 Thursday	20-02-2014 Thursday				21-02-2014 Friday			21-02-2014 Friday	05-03-2014 Wednesday
Venue, date & hour for poll (if any)			25-02-2014 Tuesday 10.00 a.m1.00 p.m at the University Buildings	12-03-2014 Wednesday 10.00 a.m1.00 p.m at the respective colleges	14-02-2014 Friday 10.00 a.m1.00 p.m at the University Buildings		12-03-2014 Wednesday 10.00 a.m1.00 p.m at the respective colleges	14-03-2014 Friday 10.00 a.m1.00 p.m at the respective colleges		
Last date & hour for receipt of marked ballot papers at the University office, Tvpm	10-03-2014 Monday 11.00 a.m	10-03-2014 Monday 11.00 a.m		17-03-2014 Monday 11.00 a.m		10-03-2014 Monday 11.00 a.m	17-03-2014 Monday 11.00 a.m	17-03-2014 Monday 11.00 a.m	05-03-2014 Wednesday 11.00 a.m	21-03-2014 Friday 05.00 p.m
Date & hour for scrutiny & counting of votes at the University Buildings, Tvpm	11-03-2014 Tuesday 11.00 a.m onwards	15-03-2014 Saturday 11.00 a.m onwards	25-02-2014 Tuesday 2.00 p.m onwards	20-03-2014 Thursday 11.00 a.m. onwards	14-02-2014 Friday 2.00 p.m onwards	11-03-2014 Tuesday 2.00 p.m onwards	21-03-2014 Friday 11.00 a.m. onwards	19-03-2014 Wednesday 11.00 a.m onwards	07-03-2014 Friday 11.00 a.m onwards	24-03-2014 Monday 11.00 a.m onwards

By Order of the Vice-Chancellor

University Buildings, Thiruvananthapuram, Dated: 20.01.2014

Dr.Mohammed Basheer.K REGISTRAR/ RETURNING OFFICER