

UNIVERSITY OF KERALA

Bye election of one Student Member to the Syndicate by the Members of the Senate (Under Section 21-Other Members – (b) of the Kerala University Act, 1974)

No. 26296/E S/2025/UOK

<u>N O T I F I C A T I O N</u>

It is hereby notified under Statutes 3 (5), 34 and 71 of the Kerala University (Conduct of elections to various Authorities or Bodies) First Statutes, 1974 that an election will be held without postal ballot according to the principle of proportional representation by means of single transferable vote and in accordance with the procedure prescribed by the Statutes to elect **one (1) Member to the Syndicate by the Members of the Senate** as provided for in item (b) under the heading "Other Members of section 21 of the Kerala University Act, 1974 from among the Student Members of the Senate (viz., members referred to under (i) in item 15 under the heading "Ex-Officio Members" (ii) in item (12) under the heading "Elected Members" and in item (3) under the heading "Other Members" in section 17 of the Kerala University Act, 1974.

Only persons whose names are on the electoral roll of members of the Senate published by the University on **12.05.2025** are eligible to take part in the election and to vote thereat subject to the provisions contained in the Kerala University Election Statutes. Copies of the Electoral roll are available for sale in the University Office on payment of Rs.100/- per copy and also can be downloaded from the Kerala University website.

Every elector is at liberty to nominate one duly qualified person to fill up the vacancy. Every such nomination shall be proposed by an elector and shall be seconded in writing by another elector. Every such nomination shall contain an affidavit and the consent of the nominee agreeing to serve the Syndicate, if elected. Nominations shall be made in the prescribed form, copies of which can be had from the Election Section, University Office, free of cost, on request.

Nominations duly filled in, in all respects shall reach the **Registrar/Returning Officer** not later than **03.00 p.m.** on **05.06.2025**. Nominations, if sent by post should be enclosed in an envelope super scribed "<u>Nomination for election to the Syndicate</u>".

The polling of votes for the above election will be held from **08:30 A.M. to 10.00 A.M** on **17.06.2025** at the meeting of the Senate at the Senate Chamber, University Buildings, Thiruvananthapuram.

The programme for the conduct of the election is as follows:

1	Last date and hour for the receipt of Nominations	<u>05.06.2025</u> Thursday	03.00 p.m
2	Date and hour for the scrutiny of Nomination	<u>05.06.2025</u> Thursday	03.05 p.m
3	Date of Publication of the provisional list of candidates validly nominated	<u>05.06.2025</u> Thursday	
4	Date and hour fixed for withdrawal of candidature	<u>11.06.2025</u> Wednesday	12.00 p.m.
5	Date of publication of the final List of candidates	<u>11.06.2025</u> Wednesday	
6	Date and hour fixed for the Poll if any at the meeting of the Senate	<u>17.06.2025</u> Tuesday	08.30 a.m. to 10.00 a.m.
7	Date and hour for scrutiny and counting of votes, at the University Buildings, Thiruvananthapuram	<u>17.06.2025</u> Tuesday	1.00 P.M onwards

By Order of the Vice-Chancellor

University Buildings, Thiruvananthapuram, Date : 19.05.2025 Sd/-Prof.(Dr.) K.S Anil Kumar Registrar/ Returning Officer