

## UNIVERSITY OF KERALA

## No. Election/Senate-Bye-election/2021-22

Bye-election to the Senate to the existing vacancies - Election of Members by the Principals of the Colleges/Members of Legislative Assembly/ Teachers of the Private Colleges/ Members from the Local Authorities/Registered Trade Unions

## **NOTIFICATION**

It is hereby notified under Statutes 34 & 71 of the Kerala University (Conduct of elections to various Authorities or Bodies) First Statutes 1974, that bye-elections to the Senate will be held by postal ballot in respect of persons coming under item number 1,2,3,5 and 6 and without postal ballot in respect of item 4, in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of single transferable vote and in accordance with the procedure prescribed by the Statutes to elect to the Senate.

1	Two (2) Principals of Government Colleges (under section 17 - Elected members (1) of the Kerala
	University Act, 1974).
2	One (1) Principal of Private Colleges other than unaided colleges (under section 17 – Elected members
	(1) of the Kerala University Act, 1974).
3	Four (4) Members of Legislative Assembly (under section 17 - Elected Members (3) of the Kerala
	University Act, 1974).
4	Two (2) Teachers of the Private Colleges (under section 17 - Elected members (6) of the Kerala
	University Act, 1974).
5	Three (3) Members from the Local Authorities of University area under Kollam , Alappuzha (Except
	Kuttanad Taluk) and Adoor taluk of Pathanamthitta Districts (under section 17 – Elected members (7)
	of the Kerala University Act, 1974)
6	One (1) Member of Registered Trade Unions (under section 17 – Elected Members (8) of the Kerala
	University Act 1974).

Only persons whose names are on the electoral roll of the respective constituencies published by the University on 13.10.2021 and which was finalized on 28.10.2021 are eligible to take part in the election and to vote thereat, subject to the provisions contained in the Statutes.

Every elector is at liberty to nominate one duly qualified person to fill up each seat. Every such nomination shall contain the consent of the nominee in writing, agreeing to serve the Senate, if selected.

Nomination shall be made in the prescribed form, copies of which can be had from the office of the Registrar, free of cost, on request. Nominations shall reach the Registrar/Returning Officer not later than 11.00 a.m on 30/11/2021.

. The envelope containing the nomination paper shall be superscribed "Nomination for bye-election to the Senate .....(mention the electorate).

## The following is the programme for the conduct of the election

	Principals of Government Colleges	Principals of Private Colleges other than unaided Colleges	Members of Legislative Assembly	Registered Trade Unions	Members of Local Authorities	Teachers of the Private Colleges
Last date & hour for receipt of nominations	<b>30/11/2021</b> Tuesday <b>11 a.m</b>	<b>30/11/2021</b> Tuesday <b>11 a.m</b>	<b>30/11/2021</b> Tuesday <b>11 a.m</b>	<b>30/11/2021</b> Tuesday <b>11 a.m</b>	<b>30/11/2021</b> Tuesday <b>11 a.m</b>	<b>30/11/2021</b> Tuesday <b>11 a.m</b>
Date & hour for scrutiny of nominations	<b>30/11/2021</b>	<b>30/11/2021</b>	<b>30/11/2021</b>	<b>30/11/2021</b>	<b>30/11/2021</b>	<b>30/11/2021</b>
	Tuesday	Tuesday	Tuesday	Tuesday	Tuesday	Tuesday
	<b>11.10 a.m</b>	<b>11.30 a.m</b>	<b>12 noon</b>	<b>12.30 p.m</b>	<b>2.30 p.m</b>	<b>3.30 p.m</b>
Date of publication of provisional list of candidates	30/11/2021	30/11/2021	30/11/2021	30/11/2021	30/11/2021	30/11/2021
	Tuesday	Tuesday	Tuesday	Tuesday	Tuesday	Tuesday
Last date & hour for	<b>06/12/2021</b> Monday <b>11.00 a.m.</b>	06/12/2021	06/12/2021	06/12/2021	06/12/2021	06/12/2021
withdrawal		Monday	Monday	Monday	Monday	Monday
of candidature		11.00 a.m.	11.00 a.m.	11.00 a.m.	11.00 a.m.	11.00 a.m.
Date of publication of final list of candidates	06/12/2021	06/12/2021	06/12/2021	06/12/2021	06/12/2021	06/12/2021
	Monday	Monday	Monday	Monday	Monday	Monday
Date of issue of ballot papers (in case of a poll)	17/12/2021	17/12/2021	22/12/2021	24/12/2021	12/01/2022	17/01/2022
Venue, date & hour for poll (in case of a poll)						Friday 10.00 a.m1.00 p.m at the respective colleges
Last date & hour for receipt	17/01/2022	17/01/2022	17/01/2022	<b>25/01/2022</b>	31/01/2022	<b>27/01/2022</b> Thursday <b>4.00p.m</b>
of marked ballot papers at	Monday	Monday	Monday	Tuesday	Monday	
the University office, Tvpm	11.00 a.m	11.00 a.m	11.00 a.m	<b>11.00 a.m</b>	11.00 a.m	
Date & hour for scrutiny & counting of votes at the University Buildings, TVPM	17/01/2022 Monday 11.15 a.m	17/01/2022 Monday 12 noon onwards	17/01/2022 Monday 02.30 p.m onwards	25/01/2022 Tuesday 11.15 a.m onwards	31/01/2022 Monday 11.30 a.m. onwards	28/01/2022 Friday 10.30 a.m onwards

By Order of the Vice chancellor