Home Departments List Department of Mathematics

Department of Mathematics (Established in : 1965)

Contact Details :

Department of Mathematics
University of Kerala
Kariavattom Campus

The Department of Mathematics came into existence as an independent unit on 1965 with the famous analyst Professor M. R. Parameswaran as the Head of the Department. Formerly the Department was a part of the Department of Statistics and Mathematics. The Department of Statistics and Mathematics is one of the oldest teaching and research Departments of University of Kerala. Its functioning started in 1943 as part of the University of Travancore with Professor U. Sivaraman Nair as the Head. The eminent Mathematicians Dr. Y Sitaraman, Professor K.S.S. Nambooripad, Professor V. Satyabhama and Professor M. I. Jinnah served the department as heads. Professor A. R. Rajan was the Head of the Department from 2001 to 2009. Dr. C. Jayasri was head of the Department from 2009 to 2012. Presently Dr. G. Suresh Singh is the Head of the Department.