Home Departments List Department of Physics

Department of Physics (Established in : 1970)

About Department of Physics

The Department was established in the year 1970 under the Faculty of Science. Dr. K. S. Viswanathan, eminent theoretical Physicist and student of Nobel Laureate Sir C. V. Raman, was the founder Head of the department. The Department started functioning with a UGC sponsored Post M.Sc Diploma Course in Space Physics, with 7 students and a few research scholars. From the modest beginning, it has grown into one of the largest and most bustling centres of academic activity. The department has received support from DST under the FIST programme. At present the department offers M.Sc., M. Phil and Ph.D programmes in Physics.

Research activities in diverse fields such as Plasma Physics, Space Physics, Atmospherics Science, Optical limiting materials, Nonlinear optical Materials, Conducting thin films, Dielectric Ceramics, Nanomaterials, etc., are currently being carried out in the Department. Over the years, the Department has produced 102 Ph.D degree holders, more than 250 M. Phil degree holders , 21 Post M. Sc. Diploma holders in Space Physics and 466 M. Sc. degrees. More than 30 research projects have been successfully completed during this period. Former students of the Department are presently working as scientists/faculty members in reputed research laboratories including Cavendish lab (UK), University of Sheffield (UK), I I Sc, I I Ts, ISRO, CSIR labs, IGCAR, NPL, DRDO, etc.

The Department has had a glorious past and has the potential to develop into a centre of excellence with more exciting future, provided adequate manpower and infrastructure facilities for the development arte offered in time.